Hair / Thoughts

Corinne Corinne Corinne, Bailey Rae that is

So I’ve really been on this natural hair kick. Been doing it since May. And I have to tell you, I have a ton of hair crushes! I think its absolutely wonderful that women are feeling more comfortable embracing their naturalness. The reason that I decided to go natural is because I really wanted to grow a healthy head of hair. I havent had a relaxer in over 15 years, but the heat, heat, heat from that darn flat iron and all of those colors I used to wear, really did some major damage. My hair would grow to a certain point and then just stop. I was invited to this natural hair group on facebook, ‘I know black hair….but I want to know more,’ which led me to youtube videos and I have to say that I was and still am afreakingmazed! I think it’s really cool and I love seeing gorgeous, natural hair. Now I’m not one of those, “I found myself,” and  “I feel really empowered,” type of chicks. Seriously its not that deep, and I am very comfortable with the person that I am before and after embracing my naturalness. I mean, it’s not what’s on your head, but what’s in it Yah know what I mean?

I would like to preface my pictorial ode (just had a strong urge to use the word) to Corinne by giving props to all the beautiful heads of hair that I have seen on Youtube and on the facebook site. I would’a put y’all on here but you know, I don’t really know if that’s cool and all.

Corinne’s hair definitely inspires me (she shole can sang too! (hey, it’s in the urban dictionary!!!)). And who knows, perhaps it will inspire some of y’all too. Is that legal to double parenthesize?

I couldn’t leave out my very first natural hair crush from her Girlfriends days, Joan Clayton. She rocked it! It was quite difficult to capture the beautifulness of her hair thru google. I’m reminiscing about the good ole days when it was very very big.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

